THE GUNMEN REPUBLIC: ‘BakoSorry’ Released But His Parliament Speaker Gunned Down…!


South Sudan is taken over by ‘Unidentified Gunmen Battalion’! They harrass, embarrass, arrest, kidnap, charge and discharge or execute their victims at will. Former governor of Western Equatoria, who was sacked by president Kiir and then ‘handed over’ to those who first took him to unknown destination (as per his family’s first reports).

The Late Hon. Speaker James Bage of Western Equatoria

The Late Hon. Speaker James Bage of Western Equatoria

However, by the time he was released without charges and without any reasons, his state’s parliament speaker was shot dead in his car in Yambio the same evening, August 21, 2015. The report is like that of Lt. Ayor Mach, Peter Julius Moi, Isaiah Abraham, and many others who have been gunned down ‘by unidentified squad’, who drive in, shoot their victims and drive out of the scene unseen. That is the ‘RIP public off South Sudan’!

Most disappointingly, this gang battalion have taken over and are terrorizing the country while the government is coercing the citizens to demonstrate against demilitarization of Juba and the states’ capitals. The security arrangement protocol recommends that Juba (now heavily ‘demon-sterized’) be demilitiarized and secured with a neutral force and a joint police force (JIP). The regime does not want this. The regime does not also arrest the so-called unidentified assassins. They just want to protect the sovereignty by leaving things going the same way as now. Pathetic!

BREAKING NEWS: “I can confirm as spokesperson WES Government that the speaker of WES legislative Assembly has been assassinated this evening. He was driving his car when unknown assailants sprayed it with bullets on Uze River Bridge a few kilometres from Yambio at about 8 pm. His bodyguard escaped and ran all the way to break the news to authorities and family. It was not until 12 midnight when youth were able to reach the site and found him dead in the car. His body is now brought to his house and Acting Governor and other senior leadership are in attendance. MAY God Almighty rest the soul of the deceased Rt Hon in Eternal Peace! More information on the incident will be coming tomorrow”. Charles Kisanga.

THE BACK-AS-SORROWS SPEECH

If you were a psychologist or a psychiatrist, what would you make of this speech? The man as seen in the picture looks distraught. It was reported that he was tortured (both physically, physiologically and psychologically). Could this be detected in this distress-call sort of speech, the one I can dub ‘back-and-sorry’ speech?

Of course, you know the height of a dictatorship can be measured in the word of a man once sacked, tortured and released with extreme caution to the extent that he turns round to worship his tormentors: “Also, I would like to meet the President face to face and express my joy,” he said in a staggering voice. Joy for what? Like a government of boys whereby a weakling is beaten while saying ‘Thank you! Thank you!’ every time he is hit and hurt.

Hmm, if I were Governor Bakosoro, I would head straight for a refugee camp. Why? I am not a doomsayer but his voluntary return into the hand of the volunteer government defenders, say, the National In/Security operatives, who are constitutionally mandated (and constantly updated) to embarrass, harass, arrest, investigate (say torture), charge, detain, retain, and then return to persecute, prosecute and execute their suspects…Alas, Bakosoro is back to be sorry, as seen in his speech below:

As recorded and reported by Richard Ruati:!

Earlier on I recorded the immediate past governor of South Sudan’s Western Equatoria state Bangasi Joseph Bakosoro soon after his release. Find below a near verbatim of his responses. (Richard Ruati posted on his Facebook)…

According to my analysis, Bakosoro is not only accused of not controlling his folks from rebelling, his 'snakes' speech in Mundri, his pro-Federalism on SSTV's the Agenda, but I have the feelings that since it is written in the CPA II that the governors incumbent during the signing of the agreement could be extended to the end of the Transition Period. Period, the pro-federo leaning governors had to go packing as Kiir boarded the Kenya Airways to the peace venue!

According to my analysis, Bakosoro is not only accused of not controlling his folks from rebelling, his ‘snakes’ speech in Mundri, his pro-Federalism on SSTV’s ‘The Agenda Show’, name them, but I have the feelings that since it is written in the CPA II that the governors incumbent during the signing of the agreement could be extended to the end of the Transition period… Period, the pro-federo leaning governors had to go packing as Kiir boarded the Kenya Airways to the peace venue!

Bakosoro: “Today, the President sent his senior officer to release me from detention, because that was the message delivered to me that the President sent his senior officer to release me from detention. But the reason was said to be political, that it is the only statement I got so far.

I would like to convey this message to the public that, first of all, I would like to congratulate and thank the President for releasing me from detention and secondly, congratulate him for relieving me from being a Governor for five years (sic), that was a desire I had since January this year after completing five years.

At the same time, I would like to congratulate my brother Major General Patrick Zamoi for his appointment as the new Governor of WES, I will try to support, cooperate and advice him if he requests.

Bakosorry!

Bakosorry!

And I would like to apologize to individuals that I might have wronged or taken drastic decisions against as a governor, that let him or her not take it against me as a grudge because I took such decisions as a governor but I am now relieved from that position.

Also, I would like to apologize to the President that in case I had committed any mistake or crime against him, he should forgive me. I am a human being who can commit a mistake just like anyone. But I would like to appeal to him that I am now relieved as a governor, he should not just leave me to loiter around, he should give me a job. I will help him, support my people and my country.

So if he gives me any type of a job I will accept it, because being relieved from a job is not hatred rather it is just a change of leadership from one person to another person – and that is also good for democracy, so, I can’t remain a governor for life. I think it is my time to go in good faith.

However, if there is no job I can go home and cultivate and so forth. I am very happy to be with my family.

In the detention I was not mistreated to be very frank about it, I was not beaten, I was not refused with food and I was eating the best food and I was taking bath but without soap.

BakoSorry after release

BakoSorry after release

But of course the stress of staying in a cell of 3mx5m or sleeping on the floor is there that is very stressful – yes, this is why they call it detention.

My arrest did not come as a surprise, never. Last Saturday I heard I heard that I will be arrested soon, but I did not know how soon I was supposed to be arrested.

So, that was last Saturday people were plotting to arrest me, but I took it as a lie. Then on Sunday, at around 10pm somebody called me that governor, there are forces coming to arrest you – so, I asked myself that, does it mean that if someone is relieved he should be arrested? That was my question. I said okay, let me wait for the arrest and immediately I was arrested in my house here.

If I had the intention to escape, I could have escaped last Saturday, but why should I escape if I have no ill intention against my people, my government or my leader or my country? So I remained that was why I was arrested.

I am not going to take any legal action, because this is the situation we have in this country, there are people who are unruly, they can take decisions without even informing the President or other leaders. So, such an arrest can be planned in the middle by junior officers – I won’t take it as a serious issue.

Again, as politicians, we are likely to undergo such awful situations. One can be arrested for nothing or something so it depends on the situation. Probably they might have reasons why they arrested me but since they have forgiven me, so there is no need to raise dust again – they have kept the reasons of my arrest secretly, so I can’t preempt any reason again .

BakoSorry

BakoSorry

I won’t open any case. You see, in our country, if one speaks lies one will be promoted but if one speaks the truth one will be demoted. I was told I am free to move, but I would like to gain some energy first.

Also, I would like to meet the President face to face and express my joy.

To the people I was governing or those who voted for me, what I can tell you is that the President has all the rights and all the privileges to relief and appoint somebody – so, and that is leadership. So, let is not be against that – that is number one. Number two, we need to mobilize our people, resources and energy to welcome the incoming new governor in good faith – there is no point of disagreeing or agreeing.

I think, time has come for me to go out and time has come for my brother to come in – so let us support each other after all it is our state so whoever goes to our state is our person and we shall support the person to do what he can do to upgrade our state.

Again, when one remains as a governor for many many years one may not have new ideas to generate and develop the state – so, a new energetic person needs to come and that is democracy, we need to change leaders. You come and you go, and another one comes for we cannot remain stagnant in power.

I would like to appeal to our people in WES that when change comes let us not be against it probably it may also be better – I don’t know I may get a better job than the recent one. So change can be negative or positive, but let us accept the political changes happening in the country and good things are coming and everything will be okay, thank you!!!!!!”

END OF QUOTE…

NB: But will that mark the end of arrest and accusations? Let’s first wait and see…!

