THE FACE FOUNDATION: The education foundation of some best minds!


PUBLIC ANNOUNCEMENT:

PLEASE, HELP ME RECOVER A LOST PROPERTY (FOR OUR PROSPERITY AND POSTERITY)!

The caption is in the picture

The caption is in the picture

In the first place, let me say KUR WEL KUR, like KUR GARANG DENG, has made my spirit very South-Sudanic with the change of topic to our very live history these running weeks. May such best minds of our historical colleagues continue to churn out tomorrow’s good what our political clique continues to shun or plagiarize for their immediate good.

Therefore, the following article (reblogged from my fellow blogger as initially published by Paanluelwel) has not only tickled my nostalgic memory but also reminded me of a very precious piece of history I have lost. But in the first place, to briefly revisit our Jesh Ahmr history of the FACE Foundation Schools, especially the Palotaka life, let me describe what the lost property is after this background discourse.

As he (Kur Wel) has put it in his vivid memory, I was a storyteller, which came down with me from my mother’s house. Such folklores and fairytales were my target, especially when Dr. Ostrowski started to open a school of art (painting) in Palotaka in the early 90s, which later ended up in Kisubi, Central Region of Uganda. “Dr. Wai-Ajok (as we used to address him), I want to be a painter; but would not like to paint pictures with colours but with words,” I declared to him, to which he nodded as he admitted me to the group of natural artists, inspired by Abel Alier Reech Bol. See Abel in this picture which attracted a touring French Humanitarian team led by Dr. Zygmunt L. Ostrowski of ADE.

The caption is inside the picture

The caption is inside the picture

So, every evening, they (Kawajat and colleagues) would congregate around me to listen to folktales in Palotaka in 1992. Dr. Ostrowski and Christine, his wife, used to refer to me (for identify crisis) as ‘John the Nurse’ since there were many lookalikes and namesakes of John’s. I was not only an artist, but also a ‘dictoor‘ according to our bush days. The nickname ‘John the Nurse’ was conferred upon me when he (Dr. Wai-Ajok) and Philip Thon Leek accompanied five of us, Abel Alier Jr. included (not related by blood to the senior Uncle, Maulana Alier Kuai, former President of Southern Sudan), to meet Pope John Paul II in Gulu, Northern Uganda, on behalf of the children of New Sudan on 5 February 1993. When we came back, he asked me to work with him, first as an interpreter for the thousands of unaccompanied minors going under rigorous medical scrutiny (see me marked in the picture here). Thereafter, I became a ‘dictoor’, which became my ambition all the way from Palotaka and Lobone FACE Foundation Primary School to Adjumani (Mirieyi and Alere SSS), but only to drop it in Gulu High School (O Level) and Caltec Academy Makerere (A Level), and Makerere University, when literature and art subjects started to invade my mind after award-winning series of writing competitions in Uganda.

Akuach and Ngor

Good enough, most of my Ostrowski Brothers have finished their studies in Uganda between 1994 and 2014, making me proud of them as a one-time member of Kisubi Boys Primary School in 1996, before losing the chance back to Lobone IDP/FFS camp. However, not without a lot of heartaches over the death of my same school classmates and roommates: may God rest in eternal peace the innocent souls of Maulana John Akuach Jook and Gabriel Ngor Thui (Nomaadoot) as in this picture kept by Abel Alier Jr., among other close colleagues of the Ostrowski Family in particular and Palotaka FFS in general, whose brains I will never live to cherish, cheer and share with our world of revolutionary history! The rest is part of my autobiography entitled: “Condemned to Go to School (1989 – 2019)”. But, unfortunately, I have lost the initial part of that title. Please, help me retrieve it!

HE LOST PROPERTY…!

Alas, the small exercise-book, in which I had backed up some of those folk stories, is lost! It is not lost alone, but with some many other pieces of memorabilia, including my school-day letters, most regrettably my first letter to Job Anyang, my brother who was a bodyguard of Cdr. William Nyuon around Torit in 1991, when I was in P.3 in Palotaka. That letter is incredible not because it was my original handwriting of P.3 but contained family news and morale boosting comments as my brother  whom I thought was dead since the time ‘he jumped into the bush’ in 1985.

To keep this story of our history shot, this serves to inform all my friends and well wishers that some fiends and hell wishers took my books and other documents in a full bag from PJ (Panda Janub) Club’s hotel room (Zana) in Kampala in September last year. The content included my academic credentials and three of my first manuscripts: two printed and one handwritten, e.g. The Black Christs of Africa, and a full album of pictures of those days…I say, our pictures of those days! Some of whose samples can be seen here.
Therefore, it would be of a great help not only for my literary prosperity, but also my/our historical posterity if those precious items were recovered, not necessarily my own as such. Please, my fellow citizens, especially those who are resident in Uganda, if you come across any piece of work that is ‘Pennique’: e.g. art, photo or written article (which includes The Sudan Mirror Articles), contact me for Goodness Sake.

***

The author (Ngong) and his colleagues in Palotaka Minors' Camp during the war, long before politicians and tribalists partitioned us into 'my brother's skipper' (Photo by Dr. L. Ostrowski, ADE)

The author (Ngong) and his colleagues in Palotaka Minors’ Camp during the war, long before politicians and tribalists partitioned us into ‘my brother’s skipper’ (Photo by Dr. L. Ostrowski, ADE)

However, my hope is still anchored on the effort by the management of PJ Club, particularly the manager (lady), who did not show any cooperation to me in my attempt to recover the items that were left in the hotel room.
Looking forwards to hearing from you (anyone, anytime, anywhere…)!
Yours severely,

‘Join Pain’ de Ngong.
(Use inbox in case you do not have my contacts).

****

KUR’S TESTIMONY THAT TICKLED MY MEMORY AND TACKLED BEST OUR HISTORY…

5. Testimony

My poetry back cover of 'The Black Christs of Africa'

My poetry back cover of ‘The Black Christs of Africa’: MY PREDICTION OF THE SPLIT OF THE SUDAN  STARTED WAY BACK IN KOLMAREK WITH SONGS, AND NOW THE ‘The Black Christs of Africa”.

Front cover of my first poetry work, The Black Christs of Africa, whose printed manuscript was taken in that bag. It's my worry that some unscrupulous artists or publishes my pirate it. Help me watch out.

Front cover of my first poetry work, The Black Christs of Africa, whose printed manuscript was taken in that bag. It’s my worry that some unscrupulous artists or publishes my pirate it. Help me watch out.

I remember Penn Ngong surrendered himself to literary works at that early stages of schooling in which most of us relinquished in negligence; he lived in group one and I resided in group two;a path to the river passed through their group , so every evening we waddled to the river for bath. Ngong would read on the way! He was in the third grade  and I was in the second grade, one time I asked him to read a story and translate some new vocabularies so he read aloud, a story entitled “the school race” in “New Friends”! A chubby character named James led the race before he stumbled and felt injuring his knees;” Ngong translated it. This showed how we grew into nurturing one another in everything; from learning in classrooms to fetching fire woods for teachers ‘ wives or working on their kitchens’ gardens.

6. Extra-curriculum
At Palotaka, some pupils involved in other extra curriculum such as sport and art ( painting) to purify their minds, especially those who undertook the fine art seriously became so healthy in their souls because they shoveled out their pain or nostalgia into their paintings! Some of us who submerged in sports such as soccer and volley ball lost their worries through sweating on the pitches and the rests  wallowed in laziness where parasites such as jigger and lice infested them.
***

OTHER PICTURES OF PALOTAKA BOYS AND THEIR FAMILY IN ACTION

a- ABEL ALIER, THE FOUNDER OF THE ART SCHOOL ON HIS ORIGINAL MASTERPIECE

The 'sand model' picture that led to the foundation of the Palotaka FACE Foundation School of Arts in 1992.

The ‘sand model’ picture that led to the foundation of the Palotaka FACE Foundation School of Arts in 1992.

Abel Alier reminiscing his father's luak and dura field.

Abel Alier reminiscing his father’s luak and dura field.

Palotaka Artists in action

Palotaka Artists in action

Dr. Wai-Ajok with John Dini

Dr. Wai-Ajok with John Dini

***

THE BOYS ALSO COPIED HIM AND THE GROUP GREW…

The boys on their hobby

The boys on their hobby

We were aspiring mechanics and engineers.

We were aspiring mechanics and engineers.

We also were hunters

We also were hunters

Sometimes some of us stayed idle, some of whom ended up with idle minds to date!

Sometimes some of us stayed idle, some of whom ended up with idle minds to date!

We were best builders, still building the nation to date!

We were best builders, still building the nation to date!

Pph3b[1]

Palotaka boys pounding with mortar and pestle.

Palotaka boys pounding with mortar and pestle.

Palotaka boys on grinding stones, but were resistant to kdney stones!

Palotaka boys on grinding stones, but were resistant to kdney stones!

Christian (Ostrowski) at our Omere Camp in Eastern Equatoria.

Christian (Ostrowski) at our Omere Camp in Eastern Equatoria.

And then there was another great trek, when the EDF and LRA (Equatoria Defence Forces and Lord's Resistance Army) jointly dislodged us from Palotaka through Palwar, Kashinga, to settle for one year in Omere, then finally attacked and chased to Lobone IDP camp.

And then there was another great trek, when the EDF and LRA (Equatoria Defence Forces and Lord’s Resistance Army) jointly dislodged us from Palotaka through Palwar, Kashinga, to settle for one year in Omere, then finally attacked and chased to Lobone IDP camp.

 
The boys on their hobby

PaanLuel Wël: South Sudanese Bloggers.

THE FACE FOUNDATION DREAM
Palotaka elementary school: The education foundation of some best minds!
By Kur Wel Kur
jeshamer5
Dear all, “Palotaka greeted us with voidness; a place, where many painted their future on papers, stood in ruins, classrooms’ and dormitories’ doors snapped off, the cemented floors in the buildings cracked, so the wind airlifted the soil with weeds’ seeds into the cracks; the grass grew tall on windows and in some corners of classrooms and dormitories. A ghost town for sometimes, God knew how long!”, (The Journey of Palotaka boys -Part 3- )
–         
1. FACE FOUNDATION DREAM

An idea instils hope in the hopeless dream; hope breathes life into lifeless beings;  a pilot light of our struggle/liberation, the founder of SPLM/A  who became the founding father of our beloved country, Dr. John, passed to us an educational torch through Kuol Manyang in the name of…

View original post 1,416 more words

