UNMASKING MY JUDAS ISCARIOT: REPORT ON THE BETRAYAL IN MY PERSECUTION AND DENIAL OF THE PROSECUTION FROM 2006 TO 2013 (II)


Judas Iscariot and the disciples

Judas Iscariot and the disciples

*
HOW AND WHY I LEFT SOUTH SUDAN…

In the first place, I was forced not to reveal my testimony too. Secondly I was forced to reveal my story though late as such. As to who and how I was compelled in the public court of opinions to behave like this is partly explained in Part I linked here:
https://weakleak.wordpress.com/2013/05/03/unmasking-my-judas-iscariot-75-report-on-the-betrayal-in-my-persecution-and-denial-of-the-prosecution-from-2006-to-2013/

In 2006, I got kidnapped and kept for almost a week at Mabira Forest in Uganda, and in 2007, I was attacked and stabbed severally on my arms and neck by unknown assailants that drove me out of the university to date. However, the problem was not the trauma from the attackers, it was the drama from my own people, especially those who think if a neighbour has broken a leg, they would walk better, themselves. Over all the days of my physical healing and all the years of my psychological healing, I am still scared by the self-proclaimed mind-readers that make themselves analysts during such personal ordeals. Beware of those ‘omnicient psychologists’ who gather personal assumptions for public consumptions.

In 2006, I got kidnapped and kept for almost a week at Mabira Forest in Uganda, and in 2007, I was attacked and stabbed severally on my arms and neck by unknown assailants that drove me out of the university to date. However, the problem was not the trauma from the attackers, it was the drama from my own people, especially those who think if a neighbour has broken a leg, they would walk better, themselves. Over all the days of my physical healing and all the years of my psychological healing, I am still scared by the self-proclaimed mind-readers that make themselves analysts during such personal ordeals. Beware of those ‘omnicient psychologists’ who gather personal assumptions for public consumptions.

Today, May 3, 2013, is a World Press Freedom Day. However, to me, it is a World Press Free-damn Day! Not because Michael Koma was arrested yesterday and Alfred Taban is going to be rearrested today. The Lent (Easter) season climaxed at the end of March but my Easter season climaxes at the end of April, 2013. Why? On April 26, 2006, I was drugged and dragged out of my hostel at Makerere University, Uganda, but released on April 29, 2006, actually on a Friday (Click this link for a full story published those days: . This makes me mark every last Friday of April (such as Friday 26 April 2013) my Good Friday.

Followed by my White Sunday and then a Good Monday, April 29, 2013, the day I was given back my life by one of the kidnappers who protested having been cheated by his accomplices and also not having been paid on time by my enemy (name withheld till my autobiography entitled ‘Condemned to Go to School’) in Mabira Forest that night. After the kidnapping in 2006 is the stabbing in 2007 that drove me out of the Uganda’s top university, hitherto. Then the day after the 29th, seven years later, is when a friend sneaked me out of my hideout in Juba to where I am today. I will not tell you where…! Please, do not ask me why. For more details about who perpetrated or perpetuated — including the ‘brothers’ who frustrated — my problems, read the final report leaked upto 70% and broken up into stages and periods as follows!

But before descending into details below, see why my scarecrows should not crow at me every time there is death at my neighbourhood, click the following link to the story of how I survived the stabbing and kidnapping in Kampala in 2006 and 2007, respectively, (Page 9 of the PDF)…JST0404_Issue9new,
https://weakleak.files.wordpress.com/2012/12/jst0404_issue9new.pdf

Chronological Countdown to John Penn’s Security Threat Incidences from 2012 to 2006
***

MARCH, APRIL, MAY AND JUNE, 2013

INTERNET THREATS AND THE DEATH OF KARBINO KOLEN

From the month of March to date, my Facebook friends have been haunting with me news and some ‘security agents’ posing as friends hunting me down with their ‘baited’ views on some issues and my whereabouts. I recorded some of this conversations, most of them highly critical, political and ensnaring.

The Late Karbino Kolen Dhulo addresses politiicians, elders and youth of Bor Community in Juba on January 11, 2012, over the ethnic killings in Jonglei State and the way to bring solution, which is through peace campaign. After that, the chairman referred him to John Penn de Ngong and Abraham Makur Duot, the duo who were already in the civil society mobilizing communities for peace in Jonglei State (after the Manyabol Peace Conference by the group). Karbino and Aborcup John Akuer, a musician and co-founder with Karbino for MYPAD (Murle Youth for Peace and Development) with 27 other boys teamed up with the rest of Dinka and Nuer and formed the Jonglei Civil Society Group in February and March, 2012, aimed at jointly sensitizing and sanitizing their people at their homesteads and their home state. If Karbino was really killed by Yau-Yau in the field of action, then he is by all means a hero, though being unsung and sunk by political interests in his county and country.

The Late Karbino Kolen Dhulo addresses politiicians, elders and youth of Bor Community in Juba on January 11, 2012, over the ethnic killings in Jonglei State and the way to bring solution, which is through peace campaign. After that, the chairman referred him to John Penn de Ngong and Abraham Makur Duot, the duo who were already in the civil society mobilizing communities for peace in Jonglei State (after the Manyabol Peace Conference by the group). Karbino and Aborcup John Akuer, a musician and co-founder with Karbino for MYPAD (Murle Youth for Peace and Development) with 27 other boys teamed up with the rest of Dinka and Nuer and formed the Jonglei Civil Society Group in February and March, 2012, aimed at jointly sensitizing and sanitizing their people at their homesteads and their home state. If Karbino was really killed by Yau-Yau in the field of action, then he is by all means a hero, though being unsung and sunk by political interests in his county and country.

On May 25, 2013, I was blown away by shocking news of the death of Karbino Kolen, my former colleague of the Jonglei Civil Society Group, a Murle by tribe. On a first phone call from a member of our group, Aborcup John Akuer, told me Karbino was reported to have been lured into a group that posed as peace team under Murle Peace Committee of Hon. Ismail Konyi and others. The group reported that Karbino was killed by Yau-Yau rebels among the ‘peace ambassadors’. As to why only Karbino Kolen was killed is a question left for investigation as the Jonglei Civil Society Group have put a petition to the government and rights groups to help investigate. Meanwhile, John Aborcup survived death by arson and fled Pibor in April through Juba, Uganda and now Kenya. His wife and son are said to have been snatched by another man who is threatening Aborcup. The group, to whom I was Secretary General, is now on the run everywhere inside and outside South Sudan. See full Press Release on Karbino’s death here: http://thejongleijongleur.wordpress.com/2013/05/29/condemning-the-murder-and-calling-for-investigation-to-the-death-of-our-chairman-kerubino-kollen-zullo/

FEBRUARY 2, 2013

THREATENING E-MAIL MESSAGE SENT AFTER MY DEPARTURE FROM JUBA
*
“From: CORPSS Director
Date: Wed, Jan 30, 2013 at 9:28 PM
Subject: Warning
To: “penndengong@gmail.com”
*
Hey man!

So youare going around with the story? Agains you are not stopping ur compaigns and instead you are running away. Ok, you thinks you know anywhere we can not know on this earth, continue. But the solution we tell you last time is to stop. Stop and be normal like your friends. Who is disturb them now they are keep quite, heh?
Last warning, if you go there or even aboard and you dont stop your unpatrotic compaigns againist your own country, we can get you! Understand?

Director for CORPSS!
***

JANUARY 31, 2013
*
ESCAPING THROUGH JUBA INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT BUT LOSING MY COLLEAGUE ON THE WAY TO THE AIRPORT

Karbino's check-in slip which he did not use as he failed to turn up at 9.30 AM at Juba International Airport, leaving me to fly alone to Nairobi with an empty seat beside me and Karbino's documents in hand. Three months later, I learned he was killed by rebels in Jonglei State, a very questionable story of his death.

Karbino’s check-in slip which he did not use as he failed to turn up at 9.30 AM at Juba International Airport, leaving me to fly alone to Nairobi with an empty seat beside me and Karbino’s documents in hand. Three months later, I learned he was killed by rebels in Jonglei State, a very questionable story of his death.

I left Juba through Juba International Airport with the help of friends who gave me the air ticket for Kenya Airways. However, my friend, Karbino Kolen, who was supposed to travel with me disappeared on the way to the airport. We had spent the night of 30/31 January together but in the morning, left to pick his bag from his house and borrow some money for visa from his Murle brothers. As I went to the airport expecting him to join me, he did not come till I checked in and left for Nairobi. Only his ticket and documents came with me. He remained incommunicado since then, but surprised me with a phone call on February 15, telling me he was in Pibor, his home county but was not in position to give me the details of how and why he found himself where he dreaded most.
At midnight, four people came and broke into the tent of the hotel manager. On discovering that he was not the one they wanted, they apologized “sorry, we don’t mean you!” Then they ran away, empowering the watchman at the gate. That room is just next to our former room that was ransacked on Jan. 16, 2013, prompting the management to relocate us to an executive section.
**

JANUARY 23, 2013

FAILED ATTEMPT TO BREAKING INTO OUR HOTEL-ROOM AT KUSH RESORT, JUBA

At midnight, four people came and broke into the tent of the hotel manager. On discovering that he was not the one they wanted, they apologized “sorry, we don’t mean you!” Then they ran away, empowering the watchman at the gate. That room is just next to our former tent that was ransacked on Jan. 16, 2013, prompting the management to relocate us to an executive section, later to also come under attempted break in by our ‘terrorists’.

JANUARY 19, 2013 (MYSTERIOUS PHONE CALLS)

My colleague and roommate received a phone call that demanded his whereabouts. “Where can we meet you?” When asked who he was, he said he was Kenyi calling from Gudele. Using the same number, another call came the following day, but from somebody called ‘Jada’. When we called back to know what the agenda for their meeting was, ‘Kenyi’ said it was a wrong number!

JANUARY 16, 2013

A BREAK IN TO OUR HOTEL ROOM (TENT) LEAVING A WARNING MESSAGE AND ROTTEN JAWBONES ON MY BED

This is the 'Isaiah Abraham's new year's gift' with a warning message placed on the pillow on the bed of a tent hotel room of John Penn de Ngong on January 17, 2013. Photo by the National Security/RSS

This is the ‘Isaiah Abraham’s new year’s gift’ with a warning message placed on the pillow on the bed of a tent hotel room of John Penn de Ngong on January 17, 2013. Photo by the National Security/RSS

Security present increased with frequent peeping on our Jonglei Civil Society Group Committee meeting to call a press conference on the mysterious disappearance of our founder member and Coordinator, Wiyual Manytap. Our interview with VOA journalist was frequently interrupted. Before midnight, our tent in the hotel was torn through with a razor blade, some sensitive documents and hard disk, old phone, broken laptop and personal ID Documents stolen, leaving behind a warning message: STOP IT! OR GET THIS ISAIAH ABRAHAM’S NEW YEAR’S GIFT!!! FROM CORPSS (Committee for Operation Restore Patriotism in South Sudan). The ‘gift parcel’ wrapped in a polythene paper contained rotten flesh and 2 jaw bones of a dog/goat and a bullet and placed on my pillow on my bed. Papers and my clothes were scattered on the floor. We don’t know what ‘it’ is to stop but we suspect it to be the activism e.g. my blogging, the press conference we called on Jan. 17 to suspend our operations and condemn our security threats including the disappearance of our official.
In the morning, the National Security personnel came and cordoned off the place, kept the media away, picked me and my Colleague Karbino on their pick up trucks in company of the hotel MD, took us to their headquarters in which we underwent series of investigation, ending up in exchange of contacts with a promise to protect us. Unfortunately, they ‘lost’ the exhibits in between their directors’ offices. An attempt to follow up with the committee tasked on investigating the murder of Isaiah Abraham was futile as most of that committee members did not turn up on our days of appointment at the Ministries of Justice and National Security. The only way out from that continued threats was to leave Juba, but we could not as easily as we wanted, thanks to some friends who ‘smuggled’ us away. Unfortunately, Karbino disappeared on the way to the airport!

FACEBOOK REACTIONS

The following conversation after a Facebook post I made after my hotel room incident shows how high the pressure is from my friends and relatives:
John Penn de Ngong Yesterday
MORE DETAILS SOON…
This is to call upon my negative relatives and friends-cum-fiends to stop speculating and circulating what they want — and not what the public need — to hear/read about the ‘SCARE BOMB’ thrown into my bed on the night of January 16/17, 2013. While I, with the authorities are still on the run after the ‘terrorists’ in the streets of Juba, (or turn it round if you like) while they are still on the run after me in the streets of Juba, I am yet to release the official account/public statement about the ‘DIRT BOMB’ you see in the picture here. Please, be patient and watch this space …o— with Wu’Sas Gong
1. 7 hours ago • Like
o Lual Paul Mabior: Negative relatives!!!!!!! so unfortunate Ngong, we are not. u are the trouble causer of yr own. what is so important on u that negative relatives or friends or may be government want to kill u? pliz learn from yr past stories.
o 6 hours ago • Like
o John Penn de Ngong: Lual Paul Mabior, I was waiting for your comment, and now that you have claimed the title ‘Negative Relative’ withouth first studying why I made that statement, so be it. But then, let me invite you back from the past to the present dear brother. Days have changed and if you are still in our Kampala of 2006 in the Juba of 2013, then you need a lot of journeys back home (the current Republic of South Sudan). As for your naive question of what is not in me that anybody would want to kill me for, anyone will tell you, not me.
o 5 hours ago • Like
o Lual Paul Mabior: My bro, gud tht u were waiting for my comment. am among those negative relatives bse we love u to be safe and do right things for yr kids other then wasting yr time and inviting problems on unproductive issues. I though u wld be thinking about Alith’s future . Am so sad Ngong.
o 3 hours ago • Like
o John Penn de Ngong: Lual Paul, thanks for your concern about my family. You are justified to be sad for the situation they might be in, but not justified to jump blindly into issues you have never heard of and dictating what you want to believe and not what is on the ground at the moment. By the way, what do you mean “wasting yr time and inviting problems on unproductive issues”? You mean I should resort to dealing in cars or cash in Juba like our fellow miracle millionnaire youths of the today’s South Sudan? Hm, genuine point here, but I can’t succeed there either coz writing is the only business I can do best. The fact that literacy is not what our new nation is founded on is not my crime here. Please brother, take care of your anger when making comments on other people’s affairs coz you may be misinterpreted. Or don’t you know that somebody is making use of all the comments here to study the nature of that ‘hate bomb’? Again, I still invite you back from my 2006/7 problems that you my brothers poked your noses into too deeply to the extent that you failed to make well informed analyses. This is 2013, with its different affairs! What you see in the picture and hear of is real unlike my 2006 attackers whom you did not know. I mean I have some names and messages in my phone, on my Facebook wall and others physically confronting me. All these records are there. But if your negativity still wants you to dispute these evidences, then be informed that my colleague who worked with me on the same project that day is missing now for over a month, leave alone the one who is dead! Other colleagues of the media are on the run whereas others (like Manyok Biar: see his comment in my last post of the same topic) or else, identify with this terror group through your attitudes that drive you!
o 3 hours ago • Like
o Yar Ajok Bro: i can’t urge you to back down on your writing but to exercise extreme care.Our country and rather officials have turn into silencers.You can’t speak up on anything and you become a target.Wonder if this is all we fought,persevered and suffered for,for those years.I do believe time will come when freedom of speech will be a practical right,when we all can share our opinions & ideas with no fear of being harmed or worst being killed.Till then take care; will always pray for ur safety.You’re an awesome writer.
o 2 hours ago • Like
o Lual Paul Mabior: Anyway am nt telling u to go and deal in cars or cash bt used yr writing skill wisely. those miracle millionaire hve no problem with anyone. they are only minding about their businesses and where to get cash. i hve a right to be mad at u bse i dont like what is happening to u. in 2006 we suffered alot looking for u until we found u alive. if i hve poked my nose into yr affairs in 2013 as u said thn am sorry.
o about an hour ago • Like

JANUARY 4, 2013

KARBINO KOLEN IS THREATENED

LEFT TO RIGHT: Abraham Makur Duot (GUNPI), John Penn de Ngong (USTASS), Aborcup John Akuer (MYPAD), Karbino Kolen (RIP)-MYPAD, John Chuol Mamuoth (UNYYMPDA) on Miraya FM preaching peace and mobilization for the Jonglei Peace Caravan, March 3, 2012. Photo by Maal Maker Thiong.

LEFT TO RIGHT: Abraham Makur Duot (GUNPI), John Penn de Ngong (USTASS), Aborcup John Akuer (MYPAD), Karbino Kolen (RIP)-MYPAD, John Chuol Mamuoth (UNYYMPDA) on Miraya FM preaching peace and mobilization for the Jonglei Peace Caravan, March 3, 2012. Photo by Maal Maker Thiong.

Karbino Kolen, a colleague working on the same project with me went missing on Jan. 2. He did not come back the following morning we had to meet a donor at a certain embassy. A week later, he appeared to me and requested that he be given cover in the same hotel I was hiding in. He reported that the Murle leaders were threatening to shoot him down over allegation that he teamed up with the ‘enemy communities’ (Nuer and Bor) to kill all the Murle politicians. The informer in Chief Ismail Konyi’s house told Karbino that the Murle heard that Bor politicians (names withheld) mobilized money from Australia and gave it together with 10 guns to Karbino and his colleagues to kill Murle politicians with the aim of replacing them with young generation of leaders. Therefore, Karbino had to be eliminated before he took action. The same message was echoed by the Murle politicians to the Vice President during the meeting mid January as we were informed by the same office two days after the meeting.
So the planning was that Karbino must cross the border to Kenya where he did his college education before he and his colleagues (Aborcup John Akuer and 27 others) formed Murle Youth for Peace and Development (MYPAD) in January 2012 as part of Jonglei Civil Society Group on peace campaign. This move put them at odds with their Murle community who declared them traitors and liable to attack any time. This threat was released on media early 2012.

JANUARY 2, 2013

Two suspiciously looking men came over to the hotel, headed to the guess section and sat next to my table, saying no word but toying with their i-phones as if taking a picture. As we left the table, they followed us and went to ask for a room at the counter, which they did not pay for. As we went out, they followed us in a car whose number we noted.
We left the hotel and went back home for that night. We noted down their car number and as usual reported it to the hotel management.
We also suspect they were those ever stalking us since the event of 12/12/12 as seen in our Facebook conversations below with my group members who have left the country over threats:
• about an hour ago • Like
Nyan Nyiir: How evil… God will protect u my friend from such heartless individuals…smh
• 13 hours ago • Like
Zechariah Manyok Biar: John, Be careful there. They want to eliminate everybody who thinks different than they do. Shame on them. 55 minutes ago via mobile • Like
John Penn de Ngong: Zechariah Manyok Biar, Since our last day on the Triple Twelve event at Kush Resort. I heard of what happened to you, which is happening to me now. Where are you bro? Hope you are safe. Please, inbox me a short story of your status, and maybe call me on my number or inbox yours. There is more to tell than this… 44 minutes ago • Like
• Zechariah Manyok Biar: John, I am safe. I will write to you later. I believe I was the second on the list.
John Penn de Ngong: Ok, bro. I concur with you in terms of the position as i was confidently informed by one of our journalists who is closed to the department that is profiling us. 25 of our names were taken from that event of 12/12/12, and I am sorry, that’s the time they identified you and your car number as they were hovering around during our function. Well, we are handling it here, just playing hide-and-seek with them and the authorities. Pls, let me know which country you’ve run to and what is your status there. This is my email: penndengong@gmail.com about a minute ago • Like

DECEMBER 28

MYSTERIOUS VISITOR POPPED UP AT MY HIDEOUT…!

Me, monitoring the disarmament operations in Jonglei (picture taken at Waat, March 2012). The report I made later (check The Jonglei Jongleur blog) turned the attention of the SPLA, especially the Intelligence, on me and the spotlight did not only blur my vision at work but also scared me out of the country.

Me, monitoring the disarmament operations in Jonglei (picture taken at Waat, March 2012). The report I made later (check The Jonglei Jongleur blog) turned the attention of the SPLA, especially the Intelligence, on me and the spotlight did not only blur my vision at work but also scared me out of the country.

A high-ranking officer (name withheld) of MI (Military Intelligence) came to my hideout at Kush Resort and asked what I was doing there, checked my laptop and went away without telling me the reason. He is the same person who warned me in October that they were watching my activities online (social media).
He found me writing an e-mail to one of my donors of the Book Fair project that was a follow-up of the December 12, 2012 Literacy event. We had formed a committee to compile essays of Isaiah Abraham together with some selected essays other others and publish them for fundraising during our January 31, 2013 Book Fair to support the late’s orphaned daughter in school in Kenya. This did not happen!

I had to immediately inform a US embassy official that I was discovered by a suspicious person while replying to their e-mail message about our Book Fair and Talent Awards event postponed from December 12, 2012. (E-mail details concealed here as the body goes):
(Therefore, it is my humble request, if relevant to your protocol
procedure and mission, that you extend our contacts to the departments
concerned with rights or protection. I am suggesting this with fear of
insecurity that has engulfed our group since the death of our
colleague, Isaiah Abraham recently.

We did postpone the book fair but the writers’ gathering went on since it coincided with
the funeral of the late Isaiah. 15 of the members who gathered for the tribute of the late that evening of 12-12-12 event are said to have been profiled at a certain security office, and three members have already been threatened, hence are in hiding. I am also in hiding in Juba.

Unfortunately, just as I was reading your email, one of the security officers (a Brig.Gen.), who had once warned me of my blogging a few months ago, just appeared behind me and asked, “What are you doing? So you are on the internet?” And he is still going around in this hotel I am in right now. Fortunately, two of my fellow writers (Manyok Biar and Mading Ngor), among those threatened ones whose names were announced in the last funeral prayer which was attended by your ambassador (Dec. 16, 2012), have managed to escape out of the country right now. Others are in hiding and the rest are managing the situation with the security at their work places: some already surrendered to work as their informants according to some rumours from our colleagues. In fact, there are numerous threats but a few, which are probably based on rumours, are given in my reaction on the blog as linked).
He was seen by fellow blogger, Paanluelwel, who was holding a meeting with me at Queen of Sheba in October when he informed me of their presence online with me, and Deng-bil William who was with me at Kush Resort when the officer bumped into me.)

DECEMBER 26, 2012

A threatening email sent to me on January 30, which accelerated my decision to leave the country immediately.

A threatening email sent to me on January 30, which accelerated my decision to leave the country immediately.

Suspicious SMS’es from media friends and others’ requesting for a meeting and trying to confirm my location followed. For example, there was one asking for my opinion on Bor vs Bahr-el-Ghazal politics, etc. More meeting requests followed from acquaintances that demanded to know my location but could not reveal the agenda for our meeting. I avoided then.

DECEMBER 23, 2012

Warning phone calls poured in from my friends and relatives, especially after the incident of the slain writer, Isaiah Abraham, on my personal security after my attempt to publish articles and profile of the late in an essay book to be launched during my book fair project in January, 2013. See Press Release linked here. This press release by my organization, USTASS, for the 12/12/12 celebration was misconceived by the security as a subversive mobilization for a demonstration in Juba after a demonstration in Bor the day before. http://ustassgroup.wordpress.com/2012/12/10/invitation-for-the-ustass-annual-super-supper-diner-in-tributes-to-the-fallen-colleague-isaiah-abraham-at-kush-resort-juba-on-wednesday-12-12-12/

DECEMBER 22, 2012

A scary but awakening Facebook message sent to me, Ayuen and Maal Maker by a friend at the height of the terror against journalists and activists in Juba.

A scary but awakening Facebook message sent to me, Ayuen and Maal Maker by a friend at the height of the terror against journalists and activists in Juba.

My wife calling from Kampala and urging me to leave the project of writing for other businesses. She received a phone call from a friend claiming that I was arrested by authorities, and warning her to restrain me or I ‘follow’ her cousin (Isaiah Abraham who was killed). A trip to Kampala to spend X-mas holiday with my kids and wife was planned but later cancelled due to some threats from those attempting to know when I would be leaving for Uganda.
• The rumour that I was arrested went round the world and even affected my family (wife and kids) in Kampala as seen in this Facebook messages with a friend:
• December 11, 2012
11:51pm Show Images
Sabbath de Yecouba Hey sir. Have u attended the litfest? Have u left the country. That risky nation? I heard u were jailed…
6:16pm Expand Show Images
John Penn de Ngong No, I was not. These are the daily rumor-bombs they throw to public to keep me on my feet bro. Anyway, if I get a way out, I will. This country is no longer safe as far as we are concerned, I mean writers, journalists and activists.

DECEMBER 18, 2012

At 8PM, I received an anonymous phone call from somebody who claimed to be my ‘friend’ but works with Security, warning me to leave the Red Army Foundation Launch review meeting and go to spend a night at South Sudan Hotel instead of going back home at Jebel Market area. I had to leave the RAF Foundation meeting at Dolce Vita Hotel and went to South Sudan Hotel and then changed the venue midnight to Kush Resort as my ‘informer’ no longer cooperated to come to my location for more lights on the warning.

DECEMBER 16, 2013

My blog page carrying a press release sent to journalists, writers, artists, activists, etc. inviting them for the late Isaiah Abraham's funeral rite which coincided with my organization's (USTASS) annual literacy day that fell on 12-12-12 day! Our real problems started during this function at Kush Resort as most of my fellow speakers got life-threatening messages the following days.

My blog page carrying a press release sent to journalists, writers, artists, activists, etc. inviting them for the late Isaiah Abraham’s funeral rite which coincided with my organization’s (USTASS) annual literacy day that fell on 12-12-12 day! Our real problems started during this function at Kush Resort as most of my fellow speakers got life-threatening messages the following days.

During the last funeral prayer for the slain writer at Gen. Bior Ajang’s house in Juba, I received many messages from colleagues and friends in the security departments of being wanted and our names being profiled by the Security organs in connection with our reactions to the death of Isaiah Abraham and our blogging and other activism activities as a group, whose names were announced during the function by the MC.
I requested to have my names omitted from being announced among the names of those being haunted. I also suspended the project of publishing the essays and life history of the late, and postponed the book fair project, altogether.

This email warning from a Facebook friend came after seven of my colleagues who spoke in the 12/12/12 Event were already threatened with messages and put on the list of the security monitoring. E.g. the following conversation took place between me and some Facebooker who calls himself ‘Wen Madyt Dengs’, who identity I do not know.
***
December 19, 2012
Report • 1:31pm
it is ur time to get assassinated!
Report • 1:32pm
What do you mean?
(No response!)
**
January 15
Report • 12:08pm
hw are u mzee?
Report • 12:10pm
am cool man. no word since last year?
Report • 12:11pm
(y) great.
where are u now?
Report • 12:14pm
Hehehe, should I tell? Ok, Juba
Report • 12:15pm
Heheehee! this is wat i know,
Report • 12:17pm
Yea bro, what and how do u know it?
Report • 12:18pm
Coz it’s where specialists stay. E.G you!
bye
Report • 12:22pm
Correction, where they hide! I tried Bor but it didn’t work either.
Bro, pls tell me more about yourself and the source of your info of my assassination you warned me of last time (Dec. 19)?!! (No response!)
Report • 4:48pm
Hi bro. am still worried of the traffic of Facebook messages that hit me everyday. do you have any clue of your previous post; ‘You are the next to be assassinated’?
Report • 2:49pm
For sure you need to observe all your steps.
Report • 3:55pm
What do you think I should do to stay alive?

DECEMBER 15, 2012

One of the pages of my blog showing my reaction to the reaction of the Minister for Information upon my story that was published by Reuters and other international media houses in March 2013.

One of the pages of my blog showing my reaction to the reaction of the Minister for Information upon my story that was published by Reuters and other international media houses in March 2013.

I received a phone call from one of my fellow journalists informing me that one of our writers, Zechariah Manyok, who was the main speaker during our USTASS’s 12-12-12 event, survived a car accident and is being stalked. A month later, we exchanged the following Facebook conversation.

• 55 minutes ago via mobile • Like
• John Penn de Ngong Zechariah Manyok Biar, Since our last day on the Triple Twelve event at Kush Resort. I heard of what happened to you, which is happening to me now. Where are you bro? Hope you are safe. Please, inbox me a short story of your status, and maybe call me on my number or inbox yours. There is more to tell than this… 44 minutes ago • Like
• Zechariah Manyok Biar John, I am safe. I will write to you later. I believe I was the second on the list.
John Penn de Ngong Ok, bro. I concur with you in terms of the position as i was confidently informed by one of our journalists who is closed to the department that is profiling us. 25 of our names were taken from that event of 12/12/12, and I am sorry, that’s the time they identified you and your car number as they were hovering around during our function. Well, we are handling it here, just playing hide-and-seek with them and the authorities. Pls, let me know which country you’ve run to and what is your status there. This is my email: penndengong@gmail.com about a minute ago

DECEMBER 12, 2012

Three suspiciously looking attendants sighted at our Scribes/Artists/activists dinner that I organized (USTASS) at Kush Resort for the funeral rites of the slain comrade Isaiah Abraham three days after burial. This day is my organization’s annual literacy day, but was shifted due to delay in funders’ response and the terror threats arising after the mysterious disappearance of my colleague Wiyual Manytap and killing of Isaiah Abraham. Among all the 30 members that attended and expressed their views, Zachariah Manyok, who spoke last said this, which Maal Maker and I repeated as a closing quote by the end of the program: “You can’t shoot people down in order to shut them up.”

Whereas the minutes and other details of the 12/12/12 event were published on other media like Juba Post newspaper, these are the details of the press release: http://ustassgroup.wordpress.com/2012/12/10/invitation-for-the-ustass-annual-super-supper-diner-in-tributes-to-the-fallen-colleague-isaiah-abraham-at-kush-resort-juba-on-wednesday-12-12-12/

DECEMBER 12, 2012

FRONT COVER OF NGONG'S POETRY COLLECTION that was also previewed on the USTASS's 'Super Supper' on December 12, 2012 at Kush Resort in Juba. I read the first poem, which is the title of the book, The Black Christs of Africa, in remembrance to Isaiah Abraham.

FRONT COVER OF NGONG’S POETRY COLLECTION that was also previewed on the USTASS’s ‘Super Supper’ on December 12, 2012 at Kush Resort in Juba. I read the first poem, which is the title of the book, The Black Christs of Africa, in remembrance to Isaiah Abraham.

I received a phone call from my colleague/co-organizer (names withheld) of the Isaiah Abraham’s tribute dinner that he was called and warned against getting involved in mobilizing another demonstration (as in Bor on Decembe 11) by ‘Bor journalists’ as our gathering was ill-conceived by some security quarters in Juba.

Press Release, SMS’es and phone calls were sent out to the public to clarify the motives of the gathering as our annual event for literacy campaign that was ordained after securing a students’ scholarship project for South Sudanese in East Africa through the President of the Government of South Sudan (GOSS) and Ministry of Education in 2006. That it was coincided that it fell on the funeral day for Isaiah Abraham fell on deaf ears among the ‘security operatives’ who later infiltrated our function, hence the beginning of our chaos.
***

PART II

My security threats connected with writing and civil society acitivism in 2012

DEBEMBER 7, 2012

Following the assassination of Isaiah Abraham, my Facebook, phone inbox and emails were awash with warnings that we are the next on the hit list.

The following message was posted by some Facebook Friend:

Ayuen Ang’oh
December 7, 2012
Tearz Ayuen, John Penn de Ngong and Maal Maker Thiong, guys be careful…the world you live in is still ”metar de tong” I dont want any of you to be silenced like your bro Diing….try and stay safe pliz…. they have been talking about your campaigns…!
**
This and other messages of threats were circulated on Facebook and reblogged on my blog and by my fellow bloggers; http://paanluelwel2011.wordpress.com/2012/12/09/12222/

Nov. 25, 2012

I received a Facebook message followed by a phone call from Ding Yual, a social worker, reporting the mysterious disappearance of Wiyual Manytap, our Jonglei Civil Society Group Coordinator and Director of YARD (Youth Agency for Research and Development). Still missing now!

On the disappearance of Wiyual, we continued exchanging messages on phone and Facebook as follows:
December 3, 2012
Report • 8:07pm
John, any news on Wiyual?
Report • 8:09pm
No bro. I almost asked you so too
Report • 8:09pm
i left Juba this morning for Burundi
Report • 8:09pm: This is unbecoming. Why this deep prolonged incommunicado? I am afraid the man might have been harmed!
What are you doing there?
Report • 8:12pm. that is my fear too
January 13
Report • 11:20pm: Hi Big Bro. Happy New Year! But without our bro Wiyual?????
Report • 11:21pm: exactly! that is a sad new year indeed

Report • 11:24pm so he is still unheard of?
Report • 11:25pm: not yet
very unfortunate
Report • 11:26pm: sorry, so what step taken?

Report • 11:28pm: we tried to push the Nuer youth to organize a rally but are very slow
Report • 11:29pm
Please, let’s do that if possible. How about using Civil Society, esp. YARD guys? I can mobilize my group to which he was a Coordinator and founder member: Jonglei Civil Society Group!
Can you please beep your number into my phone again…0955 235 997?
Report • 11:33pm
here is my number0955039471
i will put you in touch with Buai Keake whom we tried to coordinate this together
Report • 11:36pm
Pliz, do that. It’s not Wiyual who is missing. It can be me tomorrow and you next. let him have my number. That guy, Modesese Wiyual, followed me in the organizational hierarchy. Please, let us make it public, again this time coz we have received personal threats as leaders of JCSG ourselves! John Chuol, the chairman and Abraham Makur, the Camps leader, have officially given up working for this peace project of Jonglei civil society. Chuol said he is sick and Makur is doing his business at the border. But me and Karbino are clinging on, hoping a new dawn would come in the project, esp. with funding that will turn the discouraged youth back again. Please, do connect us to some NGOs who will support us as well as making effort to search for brother.

The Press Release we called a month later after the mysterious disappearance of our colleague to condemn the kidnapping and threats on our top leaders of Jonglei Civil Society Group was disrupted with a ‘scare bomb’ planted in my bed with the warning message and crude materials mentioned above, as on Jan. 16/17, 2013.The press release is attached separately herewith. (Picture: Wiyual Manytap seated in front of John Penn de Ngong holding a newspaper and reading out a threatening message from Murle Community, during a Press Conference held by Jonglei Civil Society Group in Juba, on March 4, 2012).

It was followed by the e-mail from Wiyual’s organization below:

Missing YARD Director

Inbox
x

Dear Partner’s and friends with deep sadness; on behalf of Youth Agency for Research and Development

AMBOA MOSES

11/28/12

Images are not displayed. Display images below – Always display images from mosesamboa@yahoo.com

Dear Partner’s and friends, with deep sadness; on behalf of Youth Agency for research and development (YARD) management; this is to inform you that our YARD Director Modeses Wiyual Manypat has gone Missing since Friday the 23rd Nov 2012; he was last sighted in Juba town (central business area) that afternoon and never returned to his residence till to date. All searches have been going on within and outside and no information has been obtained about him; we are expanding his searching through friend s and those who may know him and we do not exactly know what gone wrong with him and all communications has been cut off.

Secondly to all our partners; any correspondences and Updates you may need from the ongoing projects feel free to conduct me; or you can pay courtesy to our offices.

Thanks

Moses Amboa

Program Manager YARD – Malakal

E-Mail: mosesamboa@yaho.com

MTN : (withheld)

ZAIN: (withheld)

NOVEMBER 2, 2012

I was warned by my friend who worked closely with the army to stop blogging, stop the formation of bloggers’ group called http://aftaboss.wordpress.com , and to close down my blog or change it into my personal name instead of http://www.weakleak.wordpress.com
I suspended the online launch of AFTABOSS Internet’ional (Association of Facebook, Twitter and Blog Operators of South Sudan): http://aftaboss.wordpress.com/

One of the friends who predicted our demise also wrote on Facebook wall of Maal Maker as follows:
Deng Deel Deng
September 6, 2012
As youth of this country, we’re hiding on top of our knowledge coz of this word…”elimination” the mre u put a clue in things regarding the country toward them…the quick u get eliminated…………worried about Maal Maker Thiong and John Penn de Ngong.

NOVEMBER 7, 2012

Thieves sneaked into our house at night at Hon. Dengtiel’s home and made away with cell phones and money. The incident was reported to various sources and the search was mounted through Gemtel and Vivacell but the person whom we discovered to be using one of the phones live on air was not apprehended by the police due to many excuses from the said telecom companies and the police. He had to put off the phone after one month’s of disturbances on him.

OCTOBER 15, 2012

During my first meeting with a fellow blogger Makuei Mabior of paanluelwel2011.wordpress.com, I was informed by a Military Intelligence senior officer that they were following me online and monitoring all my writing activities. This is the same officer who later came to me the same way in January 2013, in my hideout at Kush Resort.

I resolved to form a bloggers and online writers’ network to monitor one another (but later stopped due to further security warnings).

SEPTEMBER 27, 2012
My colleague (Karbino Kolen, Chairman of Murle Youth for Peace and Development) and Vice Chairman of Jonglei Civil Society Group (Jonglei Peace Caravan) was called to the SPLA GHRs, accused and condemned with the group by the Operations Commander of Jonglei Disarmament forces (ORP) that our group (JCSG) was gathering intelligence for the human rights groups, UNMISS and other governments. This accusation on us was also confirmed by one former SPLA general who chatted with me in November, 2012. We sent a team to meet the SPLA disarmament operations’ command in Bor and explain our position as their partners in the peace process in Jonglei State.

April, 2012

A group of Joglei’s local politicians and community leaders with their local youths alleged that the Murle youth members and their colleagues (me included) of the Jonglei Civil Society Group are being used against the state. They wanted to bring down our Jonglei Peace Caravan project but we anchored our roots with the Governor, Commander of SPLA’s ORP (disarmament forces), UNMISS and Presidential Peace Committee, among others.
We called a public rally on April 18, 2012, addressed by the Deputy Governor, UNMISS, SPLA, and other partners to clarify our position and activities in the state. See our Position Paper here: http://thejongleijongleur.wordpress.com/2013/05/27/position-paper-for-civil-society-rally-in-bor-april-2o12/

FEBRUARY, MARCH, 2012

Murle Community publicly issued death threats against Karbino Kolen, Aborcup John of Murle Youth for Peace and Development and their Bor friends (me and Abraham Makur) of the civil society group for allegedly being used by Bor Community to kill the top Murle leaders. We petitioned the state Government through Gov. Kuol Manyang about the threats and continued on our project of bobilizing Jonglei Peace Caravan comprising youth from all the 11 counties and 45 CBOs from February to June, 2012. Those who threatened us early in the year joined us on the peace caravan and settled down on final peace accord for all Jonglei Communities. See this link: http://thejongleijongleur.wordpress.com/reports/

PART III

My other security threats during my time as a journalist and activist before 2012

January – May, 2011

I was duped into entering a partnership with a South Korean ‘investor’ with my magazine (The Younique Mega’zine: PDF linked on: https://weakleak.files.wordpress.com/2011/10/issue-iii-margazine-body.pdf ) now renamed South Sudan Business Review. As we completed the market research and business proposal, he registered the magazine in his name alone and threatened me using one Garang Akuei, a police colonel. As I and 10 other South Sudanese employees closed the office and reported him to police, then to court of law, the Minister for Information, called and threatened me to withdraw the court case lest I discourage our investors. This I did, and the paper collapsed after several threats from unknown sources to stop the court case.
I pulled out from the partnership with my fellow South Sudanese and left the paper at the hand of the a Korean investor, an Egyptian administrator, a Kenyan edior and a Ugandan designer. So the magazine collapsed and we stopped the court threats.
In addition to media and court case, my personal reaction was posted as an open letter on newsudanvision.com website and on my blog under the title: ‘A Cry of the Youth of the South: Save Us from Invertor Investor.’ as linked herewith: https://weakleak.wordpress.com/2011/09/30/save-us-from-inverted-investors/

Oct. 17, 2010

I was arrested and detained for 6 hours by the SPLA (MI) personnel who sighted me with a camera while the military hardware was being transported at midday on the same road my organization members in partnership with Mama Rebecca Nyandeng de Mabior was carrying out a Keep-Juba-Clean campaign in Customs Market, was released later after she intervened by phoning the general and other sources.
I was released after my camera was searched. I was also given a stern warning not to share the story with the media or any other party.

Dec. 12, 2009

I was mentioned in a malicious way by an anonymous online reporter to Borglobe.com that my kidnapping in 2006 is connected to the killing of my friend John Akuach Jook in a suspicious car accident in Juba, an allegation later confessed and apologized for by the website as a mere set up by my detractors, later identified after investigation.

Allegation tracked and cracked down, and condemned as malicious campaign to keep me scared and on the run as usual

Sept. 2008

One prominent politician, a minister, threatened to arrest me as he was misinformed that I wrote a defamatory article against him/his family, the article which was later discovered to be from another writer, which article did not concern him.
Clarification made and the letter produced to the minister to prove I was not the one

Aug.18, 2008

Briefly detained, my camera confiscated by the President’s security personnel for taking pictures of the president as he was dancing with my music group (The Little Doves Choir) on a South Sudan Veterans Day celebration in Juba. Investigation conducted into my profession and motives of taking the pictures, and the camera released a week later.
One of the articles mentioning such problem facing my music group was published online and by The Star Newspaper, for which I once was an editor, is linked here on my blog: https://weakleak.files.wordpress.com/2012/09/jst0406018.pdf

July, 2007

Undersecretary, Ministry of Education, Science and Technology banned my music group and me from benefiting from any scholarship of the ministry upon discovering that one of our musicians recorded a song exposing the corruption into the Student Fee Supplement Funds Project I proposed for the East Africa-based students and my group members in 2006.
My group detached itself from the ministry, but fell into a financial crises that made all of us dropped out of school, turning us critical of the system that we used to support.

Below are my group members(150 students) who came from Uganda to South Sudan to conduct a two-week literacy campaign in Juba, which was closed on December 12, 2006, by President Salva Kiiir Mayardit, making the day our literary talent day now celebrated annually, which was commemorated in a controversial ceremony by USTASS on 12/12/12.

June 7, 2007

Attacked by unknown thugs and stabbed with a knife on my left arm and neck on Makerere University campus at night. My school bag, passport, docs, and phone taken. I was the editor for The Southern Eye Newspaper, having just resigned from The Sudan Mirror Newspaper after my first kidnapping incident the year before. I dropped out of Makerere University and came to Juba after recovery in Kampala.
From left to right: I was back from the hospital and recovering in my hostel at Makerere University, June 9, 2007. This ordeal and the 2006 kidnapping are detailed in one of my books whose both covers are shown below. This book was pre-launched on 12/12/12, while still at the publisher’s and has been seen as critical like my other writings.

April 26 – 30, 2006

I was kidnapped from my hostel at Makerere University by unknown kidnappers and kept in Mabira Forest for 5 days. I was released later by one of them who was cheated in another ransom deal. After my survival, I resigned from my position as Southern Eye newspaper editor, stopped all media work, dropped out of the university and left for South Sudan and Kenya.

Feb. 28, 2006

My hotel room was set on fire through the window which was left open at Zawadi Lodge in Adjumani town, Uganda. I was taking copies of The Southern Eye newspaper to Nimule and other surrounding areas. I stopped taking the paper myself and used bus conductors to drop the paper on commission.

PART IV

My Security threats when I was still a student during the war (UNRELATED TO THE ABOVE)

February 2001

I was accused and almost lynched to death with my fellow Sudanese student at Gulu High School by Uganda opposition activists and a mob justice of Students who were instigated by Sudan Intelligence operatives that we were SPLA members and sympathizers/secret voters to President Yoweri Museveni who was assisting the SPLA that time in Gulu.
I changed my sleeping timetable and rotated my sleep in the classroom, my office of health prefect, inside the church, in the dormitory and at the home of our pastor.

June 14, 1997

Was accused and reported to Uganda army at Pakele/Adjumani by Madi local chief of passing through their village while carrying a gun in my jacket. The story was later connected to the killing of their chiefs by former SPLA soldiers in the Amelo village near Mirieyi Refugee Camp. Investigation conducted and was proved innocent after I was tortured in the UPDF Pakelle Baracks for three days, and was released later when the UNHCR protection officers intervened.

Jan. 2, 1997

I was falsely accused of having reported to a French NGO (AICF, now ACF) and CRS that the SPLA were taking our ration from our stores in the Lobone Minors Camp.
More wild stories were circulated after I left for Uganda as a refugee that I was taken to Khartoum and made more malicious claims on Radio Omdurman in April 1997 (while I was in Adjumani, Uganda!)
The allegations were proved wrong and rumourmongers shamed when I appeared again in Lobone as a visitor from Adjumani, Uganda.

August, 1996

I was accused and tortured by MI personnel in Lobone Minors’ Camp for allegedly revealing to an AICF aid worker a gun that was kept in a medicine box, an action regretted later when found out that I was not in my office of medical assistant in the camp that time. The incident happened when I was taken and held for 2 days by the SPLA conscription forces in their camps outside Lobone. The allegations were proved wrong and rumourmongers shamed when I was screened out and sent back by SPLA mobilization forces.

February 5, 1993

I survived being kidnapped in Gulu by Agents of Sudan Government while on a mission to represent South Sudan during the visit of Pope John Paul II to Gulu, Uganda. We left Palotaka, Southern Sudan, for Gulu, Uganda, in a team of five unaccompanied minors to represent our liberation movement (SPLM/A) and deliver our letter, calling for peace and humanitarian assistance and stopping bombardments on our schools and camps, to Pope John Paul II in Gulu. This angered Sudan.

We slept together in one room since we did not have guest accommodation as we arrived at Gulu late at night. We also warned the owner of the house to keep an eye on us since the agents were suspected to be living in town (Acholi Inn).

