2012 in Review: 2013 in Preview!


Here’s an excerpt:

4,329 films were submitted to the 2012 Cannes Film Festival. This blog had 21,000 views in 2012. If each view were a film, this blog would power 5 Film Festivals

Click here to see the complete report.

The year 2012 has been a great year — I mean — of great events. However, most of them had sweet roots but bitter fruits. It has been a year of great blogging but with threats of blocking as seen in the sampled quotes below:

“Writing is not only my hobby, it is also my habit; and to be exact: it is my right to ride on my free opinion, that is, by rioting in writing— provided that I am using my natural hobby for our national lobby. However, before I thumb up for my president, I have a little reason to first congratulate Lil Jon Pen, the negligible man inside me, for guiding me to fight off the temptation and guarding me to ward off the damnation of writing open letters based on assumption for public consumption; especially the special ones, always narrowed down to individuals like the President of our Republic. I have actually obtained the licence for, but have usually abstained from, making my rioting by writing anyhow viral. Rather it is vernal in opinion. This is not because somebody out there would add me to their ‘monitorbook’, but because I always predict their reaction to my action, as memories of mysterious kidnapping and mischievous stabbing are still wet on my mind.”

Just as my literary taste is incompatible with nameless open letters that argue on much ado about everything, I am uncomfortable with aimless ‘open letters’ that urge the president to take action against anonymous mafia that take our nation to the auction, wholesale! So when the Big Man, for instance, responded to the daily noise, which includes some sensible voice, in the media, it took the world by surprise and shook the concerned (not to use ‘corrupt’) ones to the roots of their state-fattened enterprise.” https://weakleak.wordpress.com/2012/08/09/blackout/

Beginning with the year 2012, itself, which has been my enemy:

“The funeral I alluded to in The Bible above is the death of the great year, 2012 itself, and the dearth of the freedom thereof! The year has been killed; swept away by the ignorant rant of our politicians. She was killed by shooters of our information sources and looters of our economic resources. therefore, I beg that the year be cancelled with all its events and its victims counselled and consoled with the new events of 2013. I mean I want not a scare; what I want is care in the new year. Adieu 2012!” Link: https://weakleak.wordpress.com/2012/12/27/five-reasons-i-had-to-boycott-my-birthday-and-spell-christmas-christmess/

In the beginning of the year, the Government of South Sudan decided to shut down the oil in order to save it from being stolen or save it from being depleted; whatever good intention it was, all turned out to be counterproductive by the end of the year. It has come with Austerity Measures. Alas, they have not been applied on the ‘Austerity Authority’ members and their relelatives themselves! As for Bashir and company in Khartoum, this is what I gave them in one of my articles:

“It is a fact to be categorically well noted that, geographically, the Republic of Sudan receded with very expansive junk of sand and land; and geologically, the Republic of South Sudan seceded with very expensive chunk of soil and oil after the implementation of the Comprehensive Peace Agreement (CPA) by our consiquent Referendum and subsequent Independence in 2011. For these and other reasons, I have some allowance of excuse not accuse Bashir and company in Khartoum for having desperately thought and sought ways of reshaping the land and re-sharing the resources with their Southern partners after the latter’s separation from the former’s suppression. Any nation can be a suitor to such a naïve virgin, but the decision all lies upon us, the ‘Reap-public of Source Sudan’.” https://weakleak.wordpress.com/2012/11/11/my-addisaphobia-a-disagreement-in-the-addis-agreement-based-on-my-analysis-of-past-historical-trauma-and-the-present-historic-drama/

The Hijlij Battle. There was no alternative. We had to go to war and defend our country. But did it work after flashing them out of Panthou? It did, but nobody voiced the needed news to the world, so we won the battle militarily and lost it propaganda-wise!

“Take it from me but not for me, without our usual Hijiliji Virus of scapegoating and moral equivalence, that though Moreno Ocampo is no longer a host, he is still a ghost in The Hague. For examble, the children christened ‘Okambo’ (mine included) after Ocampo advertized your arrest warrant a few years back, will grow up in Darfour, Darfive, Darsix, and Tchad to remind you of that evil name— Okambo!. That is in case you bribe all the African leaders into shielding you off from The Hague’s hell, which, of course, did not work for Gaddaffi. What I can see very vividly through my minds’ current history eyes is that these dudes of yours, I mean, the Jean Pings (count Jean Penn out), are political prostitutes and geographical ‘crostitutes’. The African leaders (AU) migrate with international rains and financial pastures. They are not diplomats, they are diplo’mads. This way, they are diplomatic nomads, very politically nomadic and transhumant with the way of handling human lives like my uncles in Jonglei. So, do not really rely on them this time, especially when ‘your’ oil wells are being bordered southerly. Thumb up to Gen. Solver Key, but not without assuring us that the 75 is not a ghost number, and that River Kiir is historically and geopolitically South Sudanic.” https://weakleak.wordpress.com/2012/06/22/al-hamzulilah-ocambo-is-gone-open-letter-to-bashir-al-assad-of-sudan-18-2/

I took part in the disarmament and peace negotiations in Jonglei State early this year. There was peace, alright, but it was signed and assigned to the papers like the rest of our peace agreements. That’s what made me reacted thus against them:

But before we name the loops and their holes according to the Jonglei accord, let us first know that every agreement in South/Sudan is penultimately a comprehensive peace agreement but ultimately a compressive peace argument. I mean the document that appears to be an agreement in the beginning turns out to be a piece of argument by the end. This is true of the Sudanese comprehensive agreement (CPA), as evidenced still today in Abyei and Panthou (let them call it Heglig/Hijlij). Unless we are careful, I mean extra careful, the Jonglei Communities Peace Accord (CPA) may follow suit. Why? How?

But before we name the loops and their holes according to the Jonglei accord, let us first know that every agreement in South/Sudan is penultimately a comprehensive peace agreement but ultimately a compressive peace argument. I mean the document that appears to be an agreement in the beginning turns out to be a piece of argument by the end. This is true of the Sudanese comprehensive agreement (CPA), as evidenced still today in Abyei and Panthou (let them call it Heglig/Hijlij). Unless we are careful, I mean extra careful, the Jonglei Communities Peace Accord (CPA) may follow suit. Why? How?

“As if to tell the Jongleyans that you have all failed and, hence, are punished by having zero membership on the supreme committee that was appointed by the president of the Republic to bring final and long-last peace to the state tartered and scattered by numerous battles of cattle, a mistake was made. As is always the case with our African traditional lifestyle, there is no way a visitor should come to your house in the name of solving your problem, calling you unfit, hence, cooking your meal and serving it to you and your children, hands folded. This was mistake number one. How? The drivers of all the 8 peace caravan vans (cars), all come from Eastern Equatoria or so. The errand boys all come from Equatoria or so. The secretaries all come from Kenya, Uganda or Equatoria, but under an underlying organization called Sudan Council of Churches. I mean the official ones. And by ’official ones’ I mean those who deserve payment by the end of the day. And indeed, they did, leaving our boys or other busybody gang with bones to ‘ngang ngang’ on.” https://weakleak.wordpress.com/2012/05/10/the-loops-and-holes-in-the-jonglei-cpa/

About Corruption, hey, I had a lot of correction especially on “The Letter from Above” and the demand for “replacement of hiring squad with a firing squad’ by Salva Kiir’s administration. This is how I handled the reaction to the ‘Letter to the 75’ disciples:

“Back to the impunity issue, it is a fact well known in South Sudan as well as elsewhere in Africa, that if you sacked a minister or a commissioner, you have sacked their tribe from your government. I call it a dilemma because the ‘sacked community’ will storm the office of the ‘sacker’ and threaten him with a revenge action of creating malicious militias against his government. Indeed, the new former minister will turn sinister as soon as they read the ‘letter of disappointment’ that automatically makes them feel justified to send their boys to ‘The Republic of Militialand’ against his dictatorship. Yea, he becomes a dictator upon firing ‘their son’, as they, whose son he is hiring, will bombard the media with congratulatory messages, “Long live our Hero, the Great Democrat!” As this chorus rumbles in from Community B, the incoming one, another chorus tumbles out from Community A, the outgoing lot, “Wrong Live our Villain, the Great Dictator!” And here lies the psychological monster on the bed of dilemma. Keep the government as it is? No, it is too obese from political accommodation, sir! Downsize it to solve that obesity? No, it is too lean, causing ethnic malnutrition towards elections, Your Excellency!” https://weakleak.wordpress.com/2012/08/09/blackout/

The greatest news of the year was the death of my fellow writer, Isaiah Abraham, to which I responded thus:

“When I asked why amidst varied reactions from my worried friends around, he quit! But what keeps me still scavenging in Juba after such scaremongering series of serious dooms-say on my doomsday, which is the order of the day from my relatives, including one negative relative, and my friends, including my fiends, is summed up by Patrick Moore in one of the books that I read and quote thus:“At my age I do what Mark Twain did. I get my daily paper, look at the obituaries page and if I’m not there, I carry on as usual.”   https://weakleak.wordpress.com/2012/12/21/allahluia-end-of-the-world-postponed-and-my-birth-day-and-jesuss-pre-paired/

As for the new year, my summary is this:

The year 2012 was even whereas the year 201e is odd. That means that the even histories of the old year will translate to odd stories of the new year. This, therefore, confirms that history is cyclical, it replicates as it complicates along. Now that we are sure that what goes around also comes around and what comes around also goes around, let’s then thank the Lord and remain prepared…”  https://weakleak.wordpress.com/2012/01/03/2011-in-review-welcome-to-2012/

PLEASE, CLICK THIS LINK AGAIN TO SEE THE FIREWORKS OF WHAT I HAVE BEEN WRITING ALL THESE TIME: https://weakleak.wordpress.com/2012/annual-report/

WISHING YOU A HAPPY NEW YEAR, A HEAVY NEAR HERE…!

:

